Past Winning Submissions 

Law Student Writing Awards Program

2016 Winning Papers

First prize ($7,500 and Invitation to the IIC Conference in Bermuda, Nov 3-6, 2016)      

Andrew Harmes
Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Faculty Sponsor: Stephanie Ben-Ishai

Paper: Standing Up for Shareholders: Treatment of Shareholders and Equity Claims in Canadian Corporate Insolvency Proceedings

Second prize ($5,000)    

Matt Aleksic
Western University
Faculty Sponsor: Chris Armstrong

Paper: The Interest Stops Rule: Is Nortel the Last Word?

Third prize ($2,500) 

Michael Barrett
Western University
Faculty Sponsor: Chris Armstrong

Paper: Substantive Consolidation After Nortel: The Treatment of Corporate Groups in Canadian Insolvency Law

2015 Winning Papers

The following are the winning papers of the 2015 Law Student Writing Awards competition. For copies of papers from past years, please contact the IIC.

First Place

The Clash Between Corporate Law and Insolvency Law: CBCA Restructurings

Mitchell Grossell
Western University

Second Place

Nortel Allocation Proceedings: The Case for Arbitration in Cross Border Insolvency

Vanja Ginic
University of Ottawa

Third Place

Unpaid Suppliers' Rights and Liquidating CCAAs: The Need to Reform Section 81.1

Sean Tessarolo
University of Saskatchewan